I am a vegan wife and mother to a meat eating family. I will share with you recipes I have tested and changes I am making to encourage my family to lean into a vegan diet.

Keen on Quinoa

One of my favorite grains is quinoa, pronounced keen-wah.

If you have never had it, then I suggest that you put it on the menu.

What is Quinoa?

Although technically a seed, quinoa is commonly referred to and used most often as a grain.

One cup (cooked) quinoa contains eight grams of protein, nearly twice the amount found in other grains.  Quinoa is a complete protein, meaning it provides the body all nine essential amino acids.

There are many, many quinoa recipes, but one of my favorites is:

Quinoa with Basil and Pine Nuts

What you need:

1 cup quinoa

pinch of sea salt

1/2 cup of pine nuts

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 generous handful of fresh basil leaves, chopped

Place quinoa in a strainer and rinse well.  Combine the quinoa with 2 cups of water and the salt in a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes.

While the quinoa cooks, heat the pine nuts in a small dry skillet over medium heat.  Toast until the nuts are just starting to turn golden, about 6 to 7 minutes, shaking the pan to prevent burning.  Transfer to a serving bowl to cool.

Add the quinoa to the serving bowl with pine nuts and fluff with a fork.  Add the olive oil and basil, stir to combine, and serve.

This is so yummy and really great if you grow your own basil and have an abundance.

Comments on: "Keen on Quinoa" (2)

  1. I love Quinoa. I look forward to going through your recipes! Although I am not a vegan, I do know how hard it can be to eat healthy and still please everyone in the house.

  2. Yum! I just made quinoa for the first time recently & love it. This one with basil & pine nuts is one of my favorites from The Kind Diet.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

